Product Review: E.L.F. Makeup Mist & Set

ELF Review

Makeup setting sprays have been all the rage these last few years amongst makeup fanatics. But how well do they actually work? Read on for my thoughts on a drugstore makeup setting spray by ELF.


This product claims to “keep your makeup staying in place all day with a radiance boosting invisible hold. The invigorating mist moisturizes and soothes the skin with key ingredients Aloe, Green Tea, Cucumber and Vitamins A, C, & E. Improves makeup wearability and prevents color from running or fading.”

The application of this product is relatively self-explanatory. After you have applied your makeup, spray the product on your face holding the product 12-16 inches from your face with eyes closed. Let it dry naturally or blot with a tissue to help speed dry.

(More on the blog: Product Comparison: L’Oreal Decrease Eyelid Primer vs. Milani Eyeshadow Base)

Prior to using this product I had not tried any makeup setting/finishing sprays. I have combination/oily skin, but in the winter months the “normal” areas of my skin get very dry. I have been using this product consistently for the last 2 months and I am very pleased with it.

I apply my face makeup (foundation, concealer, powder highlight, blush/bronzer), but do not set my face with a powder. Instead, before applying any eye makeup, I spray the ELF Makeup Mist & Set and allow it to air dry for a few seconds before continuing on with my makeup routine. A bit of a warning: Hold the bottle at least a foot away from your face. If you spray the product onto your face from any distance shorter than 12 inches, the mist will not be so “mist-y”. The nozzle sprays out a lot of product at once, so in order for the product to evenly distribute across your face, keep the bottle at a distance.

(More on the blog: Review: Crest 3-D White Strips)

I have noticed that since setting my face makeup with this product as opposed to a powder (was previous using the Bare Minerals Matte foundation), my makeup has lasted longer and remained more even-looking throughout the day. I apply my makeup around 6 in the morning and when I check my makeup around 11 am, it looks like I just applied it. When I get home around 4:30 pm, my makeup is just starting to show signs of fading, but remains pretty even in appearance. This product also perks up my skin and adds a natural-looking shine to my face. It makes my skin look alive as opposed to looking like it’s been covered with makeup.

This products costs about $3.00 for 2.02 fl oz (available at some Targets and on their website).

I highly recommend this product to people with dry to combination skin. Oily skin users may find that this product increases the appearance of oil of their skin.

How do you set your makeup?

3 thoughts on “Product Review: E.L.F. Makeup Mist & Set

  1. Roni says:

    Thanks so much for this wonderful review. Its hard to find one this helpful. You answered all of my questions perfectly. Especially since I have the same skin type. I hope I have as good as luck as you because you can’t beat the price!
    Thanks again, awesome!

Leave a Reply

