Sleep Deprivation Lessons

Image

 

If you could tell everyone one thing RIGHT NOW, what would you tell them? Immediately I know what I would tell everyone i know. GET. SOME. SLEEP.

As a college freshman, I have quickly learned that sleep does not come easy around here. Sure, it’s easy to fall asleep in an 8 am lecture or to go to bed at 9:30 pm instead of studying, but is that the best thing to do? Not always. Personally, I don’t feel comfortable wasting the thousands of dollars my family is spending to put me through college by sleeping through class and not getting my work done. Sure, that means I might not get as much sleep as I would like, but when I am able to sleep, I can sleep easy.

In a couple of my classes, being an education major, we have discussed the who, why, what, where and when of education and the education system in the United States. I found these discussions incredibly humbling because the more I talked to people, the more I began to recognize that not everyone is afforded with the opportunity of higher education. And I know that seems like a no-brainer, but it never hit me until now.

Going to college was never an option in my family. Both of my parents are 4-year college grads and it was always expected of me to follow in their footsteps in that sense. The older I got, the more I wanted to go to college, not solely to get away from home and my parents, but to continue to learn and to challenge myself. Being an official college kid for a month now, I have made it a mission of mine to take advantage of anything and everything that my university offers because, even though we might not all believe it, not every one goes to college. In my opinion, everyone should go to college, but unfortunately that’s not the case just yet.

Moral of the story today, get sleep while you can. If you are ahead on work in school, sleep. If you don’t have homework now, see if you can get ahead on some work because you never know what kind of crazy high-jinx can come up to keep you from sleeping.

Make the most of every day, no matter your circumstances. As far as I know, you only live this life once; make it the best life you’ve ever had. Live today for you.

 

Much love always,

Kristine

Leave a Reply

