How to: Organizing a Planner (Featuring the Erin Condren 2015 Life Planner)

Erin Condren Life Planner

I’ve never been one to see the value in dishing out more than $20 for a planner. at least i wasn’t before. once i began to see countless youtube videos featuring erin condren planners, i knew that i would be missing out on an essential organizational tool if i didn’t get my hands on one. without further ado, here is my erin condren planner and how i use it to stay organized!


Erin Condren Life Planner

Each Erin Condren Life Planner has dividers separating each of the twelve months of the year (if you choose to get the 16-month planner, then it separates each of the 16 months). As pictured above, each month begins with a full-month view, which I use to highlight important events for the month.

Erin Condren Life Planner

Each month is then split into the different weeks into the layout above. As you can see the layout I have is the vertical layout, which used to be the only option for Life Planners. However, with the launch of the 2015-2016 planners a couple weeks ago, you are now able to choose between the original vertical layout and a new horizontal layout. When I first learned about the new layout option, I thought that I would order the new horizontal layout for 2016. The more I’ve come to utilize my planner, I think I’m going to stick with the vertical layout for the coming year.

Erin Condren Life Planner

When school was still in session, this is how I would organize my planner. I placed homework assignments, papers, and other assignments that needed to be completed in the “Weekly goals & notes” section of each week. Like most people who enjoy checklists, I loved seeing all of my assignments crossed off by the end of the week.

I would use the different sections of each day for meetings, exams and if I any papers or projects due. During the summer, I’ve come to use those sections a little bit differently. I still write down when I have work or class or meetings, but I also use those sections to write down particular things I want to get done during that time period. For example, in this morning’s “morning” section I have written that I needed to complete this blog post.

I use the bottom section of the page to write down non-academic things that need to get completed before the end of the week. That way the less urgent things aren’t taking up prime writing space, but are still visible and serve more as a friendly reminder.

Erin Condren Life Planner

POST-ITS. I love post-its. I love them so much I bought the 24 pack of them from Costco. I use post-its for what feels like everything. I use the standard size to write down weekly menus (pictured above) so I don’t have to guess what I should make for dinner. The most useful way I’ve found to use post-its is for very long to-do lists. Last week, I had to head back home for the weekend, but needed to complete a lot of reading, blogging, and errands before I left. Post-its allowed me to write out anything and everything I thought of that needed to get done before I left.

I also have started using the bookmark style post-its to help me organize an editorial calendar in my planner. In the bottom-most section of the planner, I use bookmark post-its to write down the title of blog post that will go live on Wednesday and Saturday of that week. This allows me to think ahead of main points I want to discuss in that post and prevents me from running out of ideas.

Erin Condren Life Planner

Each planner comes with 4 full sticker sheets. Two of them (pictured above) contain a variety of pre-labelled stickers, while the other 2 sheets are colorful stickers, but blank. Lately, i’ve been using the blank ones to cover up the “night” title of some days and writing a different title for that section. If I have a lot of blogging to do one day, then that section might be labelled blogging. It depends on what I’ve got going on that week.

The planner also comes with a great notes section (great = a lot of pages) and contains both lined and unlined pages. I use these pages to brainstorm blog post topics and to keep important school information.

To get your own Erin Condren Life Planner, visit her website here. This post was not sponsored neither Erin Condren nor Post-its, I’m just a really big fan of their products :)

How do you organize your planner?

6 thoughts on “How to: Organizing a Planner (Featuring the Erin Condren 2015 Life Planner)

Leave a Reply

