Recipe: Simple Broccoli Rice Bowl

Broccoli Rice Bowl

This recipe came about because I was sick of eating ramen or toast for lunch. We had rice  (which doesn’t take that long to cook) and an endless supply of frozen broccoli in the house, so i figured, why not combine them? This recipe may not be the most sophisticated, but its quick and yummy – which is what really matters.

IMG_7930

I start by combining rice and water in a small sauce pot with some salt. This beginning of the rice-cooking process always seems to take a while so I use this time to browse Pinterest or read other blogs. Once the water boils, I add frozen broccoli and let the two ingredients do their thing.

IMG_7933

I let the broccoli and rice cook together for about 10-15 minutes – however long it takes for the remaining water to evaporate. Make sure to test the rice before you remove the pot from heat because you don’t want to chow down on under cooked rice.

IMG_7932

Once I remove the rice from heat and pour it into a bowl, I add my mixture of spices. I sprinkle a little salt, garlic powder and a lot of red pepper flakes (not shown in picture above) and mix the rice and broccoli well. Then, I add in soy sauce (arguably the best condiment on the market) and stir it all up. After that, I plop down at the table and eat up while reading my Bloglovin’ feed. I’m always surprised at how long I remain full after eating this recipe. I usually make lunch around 11 and, with this recipe, don’t get hungry until around 4!


What you’ll need:

1/2 cup Jasmine rice (substitute for whatever rice is your favorite!)

1 cup water

1/2 cup frozen broccoli florrets

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. red pepper flakes

1/2-1 tbsp soy sauce

Salt to taste

how to make:

  1. Combine rice, water and a sprinkle of salt in a small sauce pot. Cover. Cook on medium heat until comes to a boil.
  2. After water boils, add frozen broccoli to pot. Cover. Continue to cook until rice is cooked thoroughly, stirring every couple of minutes.
  3. Remove mixture from heat and pour into bowl.
  4. Add garlic powder, red pepper flakes, salt and soy sauce to rice and mix well.
  5. Enjoy!

What’s your go-to lunch recipe?

 

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Simple Broccoli Rice Bowl

Leave a Reply

