Review: Performing Under Pressure by Hendrie Weisinger and J.P. Pawliw-Fry

I chose to review this book through the BLOGGING FOR BOOKS program. As someone who almost constantly feels like she is performing under pressure, I was hoping to better understand how to relieve myself of some of that pressure.


The book is separated into three main sections which are them further divided into chapters. The first section talks about the science behind pressure and what exactly it means to “perform under pressure.” In this chapter, the authors differentiate between stress and pressure – which I found incredibly helpful.  The second section discusses pressure solutions aka how you can overcome a pressure-full situation. The final section of the book talks about how to build and develop those skills that can help you avoid feeling pressure in the future.

As someone who enjoys being told stories, I can appreciate the abundance and variety of stories that were described throughout the book. However, I thought that not as many stories were needed to illustrate every point. While behavior changes can occur by learning from others, I felt that the amount of different stories was distracting from the overall goal of the book.

(More on the blog: Book Review: Thresholds by Sherre Hirsch )

I found the third section of the book to be the most potentially helpful. I say “potentially helpful” because by the time I reached the third section of the book, I was burnt out on paying attention to the stories throughout the beginning two thirds of the book. Honestly, I skimmed the final third of the book because my brain couldn’t handle the possibility of reading more stories. Note: I’m not discrediting the two authors from their hard work and years of experience and expertise. Rather, I find their writing hard to read.

Overall, this wasn’t a bad read. If you are someone who doesn’t read often because of trouble focusing for long periods of time, then I would recommend this book to you. However, if you are a frequent reader, I’d skip this read. There are plenty of articles and other books that discuss similar things that are probably easier to read.

What are you currently reading?

4 thoughts on “Review: Performing Under Pressure by Hendrie Weisinger and J.P. Pawliw-Fry

Leave a Reply

