Job Interview Series: During the Interview

During the Interview

Landing the interview is arguably the second most stressful part of the job interview process. But now you’ve landed the interview and find yourself sitting in front of your potential new boss: how do you manage? here are my tips for remaining cool, confident and collected during your dream job interview.


> Breathe. Before and while answering every question. There are few things more awkward than finding yourself gasping for air in the middle of answering the question, “How have you demonstrated qualities of leadership in the past?” Taking a deep breath before you first begin to answer a question is also helpful in making sure that you start off speaking at a reasonable pace. Remembering to take deep, quick breaths helps you maintain that good pace and provides natural pauses during your response.

>Eye contact. But don’t be creepy. The general rule of thumb for eye contact during an interview is to look your interviewer every few seconds as you’re driving home your selling points. By doing so, you’re relaying to your interviewer that you are confident in yourself and your abilities. Seems trivial, I know, but trust me, it will work to your advantage.

>Smile, when appropriate. Don’t walk into your interview smiling like a crazy person, but you want to show (or give off the impression) that you feel comfortable in the space and with your interviewer. However, you want to make sure that your smiling is appropriate to the questions you are being asked. For example, if you are asked about your weaknesses or past issues you may have had with employers/coworkers, it might not be the best idea to show your pearly whites. Just smile naturally and when you’re describing your exemplary skills or lessons you’ve learned.

None of these factors alone will get you a job, but they definitely won’t hurt your odds as long as they are used appropriately. Just remember to be yourself during the interview because if you do get the job, you want to be happy going to work.

Here are the other posts in the job interview series:

Do Research on Yourself

Company Research

Preparing a Resume

what tips do you keep in mind during an interview?

29 thoughts on “Job Interview Series: During the Interview

  1. ashleyjmason says:

    I’m hoping to get an internship next summer (after my freshman year of college), and I know I’ll need to have an interview so these tips are really helpful! Thank you!

  2. Southwestern Prepster says:

    These are definitely some of the things I kept in mind when I interviewed for various jobs and my internship last semester! Cannot emphasize enough about smiling – you should be happy to be there and show it!
    xx, Mikkaela

  3. Nicole says:

    These are all great points! I’d also add writing a thank you note really sends your interview over the top!! Great post!!

    Nicole //Chronicles of Home

  4. Erica @ Coming Up Roses says:

    All yes!!! Make sure you’ve got a great handshake, DEFINITELY go above and beyond with research, and also try to bring a little something extra if it’s fitting. I saw a guy come into an interview for a communications-based position at my branding agency this summer, and he brought with him a whole plan for the job, and he photoshopped it to all be in the proper branding of the agency. He went so far as to shoot his own headshot to match the headshot style of the team’s on the agency website!

    …he got the job.

    Coming Up Roses

  5. kaylablogs says:

    These are all great tips! I’d love to see you do a post on tips for phone or Skype interviews. I applied for an internship across the state and couldn’t make it to the in-person interviews so I did it all on the phone. It was definitely challenging!

    Kayla | kaylablogs.com

  6. Melissa Sirois says:

    I’m going for an internship interview tomorrow, and I’m getting pretty nervous! I’m keeping these tips in mind, as well as doing some research on myself and the company tonight/tomorrow to freshen up and be on my A-game. I might write a similar post soon!

    xo,
    Melissa | These words are my own.

Leave a Reply

