Recipe: Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Banana Choco Chip Muffins

i’ve had my fair share of banana bread disasters, so when i found THIS simple banana muffin recipe on PINTEREST i had to give it a try. i added my own flair to this simple recipe and it turned out to be a big hit with the two pickiest vegetarians in my life. I highly recommend making these for your next lazy sunday sunday brunch.


Muffins1

Before I get into the nitty gritty of this recipe, I want to make it known that I do not own a hand mixer or a stand mixer so I creamed the eggs, sugar and later the eggs by hand. Quite literally with my hands. There’s a childish feeling that comes with cooking and baking with your hands, which makes the entire experience more fun and gratifying at the end.

Muffins 2

Like I said before, I creamed the sugar and butter together first, before adding the eggs. To help the butter incorporate with the sugar, I let the butter sit on top of the oven while it was preheating in order to help soften it (girlfriend doesn’t have a microwave #studentproblems). After about six minutes, the butter was soft enough that I could easily break it apart with my hands and with the sugar.

Muffins 3

Once the eggs, sugar and butter are completely incorporated, it’s time to add the rest of the ingredients. In addition to the ingredients listed in the recipe, I added vanilla and chocolate chips to add some depth in flavor and chocolate. Everything could use some chocolate.

Muffins 4

Once all of the dry and wet ingredients were completely combined, I scooped the batter into a muffin tin. For 12 delicious and moist muffins, add about 1/4 cup of batter to each liner. If you have some leftover batter, top off some not-so-full muffins, but this recipe is enough batter for one dozen.

Muffins 5

Pop those suckers in a 350 degree oven for 25 minutes and they’ll come out looking golden and delicious. (Ignore the muffin in the middle – I tried testing to see if they were done and got a little carried away…) But that’s it! Even with my additions, this recipe only has eight ingredients – most of which are commonplace in most household kitchens. Happy baking!

IMG_8810

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Makes 12 moist muffins

Ingredients

1 stick of butter (8 tablespoons)

1 cup of sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 cups flour

2 eggs

2 very ripe (brown or almost completely brown) bananas

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/3 cup milk chocolate chips

Procedure

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Line cupcake tin with liners (mine were rainbow zebra print… don’t judge)
  3. Cream butter and sugar together until completely incorporated.
  4. Beat two eggs in a separate bowl. Add them to butter/sugar mixture and mix together.
  5. Mash the bananas with a fork in a bowl.
  6. Combine bananas, flour, baking soda, vanilla, and chocolate chips with butter/sugar/egg mixture until all ingredients are completely combined.
  7. Fill each muffin liner with approximately 1/4 cup of batter.
  8. Bake in the oven for 25 minutes.

Happy baking everyone!

7 thoughts on “Recipe: Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Leave a Reply

