Book Review: Thresholds by Sherre Hirsch

Hirsch Book Review

I love learning and i especially love learning about ways to improve emotional health. 2015 has been quite the stressful year on this end, filled with many not-so-easy and down-right grueling decision-making.When I received Thresholds by Sherre Hirsch from BLOGGING FOR BOOKS, I wasn’t sure that i would enjoy it. however, now that i’ve finished it, i’m pleasantly surprised with how much i’ve taken away from it. here are my complete thoughts about this tiny, but mighty book.


Book Review

Life is filled with many difficult choices, many of which are highlighted throughout Thresholds. As a rabbi, wife and mother, Sherre Hirsch advises and guides people into making those decisions – crossing the threshold. As a non-religious person, I thought that this book would take the turn of having mostly religious stories and feel overly “preachy.” That thought could not have been farther from the truth. While Hirsch does retell a few stories from the Bible, she frames them as just that: stories. And I love stories.

The stories presented in Thresholds serve as illustrations of the different kinds of tough decisions every one, at any age, any walk of life can face. This was the most beneficial aspect of the book for me personally – personal, defining moments happen every day, to everyone at every age. It made me feel like I wasn’t alone and I wouldn’t be alone during my next liminal moment.

(More on the blog: Book Review: Legend by Eric Blehm)

Another factor that worked to this book’s advantage is it’s length (or lack there of). This book is relatively concise when considering the amount of information that it contains. Just around 200 pages, this book is the perfect length. Definitely a quick and easy read. All in all, I would recommend this book to the busy-bee who has a lot on their plate.

Have you read thresholds or any book like it? let me know in the comments down below!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Thresholds by Sherre Hirsch

Leave a Reply

