How to Make Leftovers as Good as New

Making Leftovers as Good as New

This school year i have not used a microwave. The apartment i’m living in just doesn’t have the room! i bet you’re asking yourself, “how does a college student get by without a microwave?” Trust me, i was asking myself the same question a couple of months ago. but look! i survived! not having a microwave has taught me to make smarter use of the appliances i do have – like how to warm up leftovers. it may not always be the easiest feat, but i’ve learned how to reheat leftovers so that they taste just like the first time they were ordered made.


The Oven  : Not only useful for baking, I’ve learned. The oven is best for reheating things with cheese and casseroles. Other things the oven is great for reheating include:

> Pizza

> Breadsticks

> Baked casseroles

> Mac & Cheese (Just add a little extra cheese and a touch of milk – as good as new!)

The Toaster Oven : Best for carb-loaded items, but also great for quick cheese melting (can you tell I love cheese?). Other things the toaster oven is a pro at reheating:

> Quesadillas

> Tater tots/French Fries

> Waffles

> Veggie Burgers/Corn dogs

> Pizza! (Yes, I also eat a lot of pizza…)

The Trusty Stove Top: The stove top is a little trickster, I’ve learned. Generally speaking, things that reheat best on the stove top are the foods that were originally cooked on the stove top. These items include:

> Rice (add a little water and cook until the water either gets absorbed by the rice or evaporates)

> Saucy Chinese Food

> Soup (There’s really no other good way to reheat soup, other than maaaaaybe a crock pot)

> Pasta (Add some extra sauce before you turn the heat on!)

how do you heat up your leftovers? leave your tips and tricks in the comments below!

42 thoughts on “How to Make Leftovers as Good as New

  1. Jordyn says:

    These are great tips, I often waste leftovers because they aren’t as good as a brand new meal, but these tips make me realize I’ve simply been doing leftovers wrong (:

  2. angelmerisa23 says:

    These are fantastic tips! I sometimes dread leftovers just because the microwave can really make things wonky but I just never thought of reheating food in the oven for some reason, it seems so obvious now. haha Thanks for sharing! xx Merisa | Monogrammed Magnolias

  3. Nicole says:

    These are genius ideas. I hate leftovers but I may give them a shot with your tips because my husband loves them!

    Nicole // chronicling home

Leave a Reply

