How to Avoid Awkward Conversation During the Holidays

Awkward Convo.jpg

By some miracle, we have reached holiday season once again. Holiday celebrations, at least in my family, usually bring along some awkward small talk with it. My sister, Sophie, and I have joined forces to bring you our favorite ways to avoid awkward topics and lulls in conversation during the holiday season.


The Holiday Itself

  • Favorite holiday food and/or dessert
  • Holiday movies
  • Tree decorations/lights
  • Holiday weather (or lack thereof – it’s 60 degrees in Chicago today)
  • Holiday shopping/massive crowd/traffic
    • Weirdest gift idea you saw/received

(More on the blog: How to Make Holiday Shopping Affordable)

Animals

  • Pets/ recommendations for new pets
  • Funny animal videos you’ve seen (or if the conversation is really bad, show them one of your videos
  • Same as above, but with CUTE animal videos (clearly there’s a difference…)

School/Work

  • What you love/hate about school/work
  • Funny co-student/co-worker stories
  • Future plans
  • If you could switch your career/major to something else, what would it be? Why?
  • Best food you’ve eaten while at school/work?

(More on the blog: What I’m Looking Forward to About Senior Year)

Miscellaneous

  • Places you’ve travelled over the last year
  • New Years Resolutions/goals
  • New/old hobbies/interests
  • Anything you know A  LOT about

How do you survive awkward conversation during the holidays?

 

31 thoughts on “How to Avoid Awkward Conversation During the Holidays

  1. Cristina says:

    Haha LOVE this Kristine! The small talk at dinner/holiday parties can get a little dull and awkward, but I’m going to be just fine with these topics to spew out. Thanks so much for linking up with us :)

  2. Tatum Murray says:

    GREAT idea to make this survival guide. Convos can definitely get awkward…especially around food with half of my family being vegan and half of them being carnivores haha
    I might screenshot this on my phone to have on hand in cause of awkward emergencies!
    Thanks for sharing!
    xo,
    Tatum
    thepace.co

  3. Jenny says:

    I’m kind of thankful that we don’t live super close to non-immediate family so this doesn’t happen as often..but these are all great ideas.

    xoxo, Jenny

  4. Tiffany Khyla says:

    This is so handy! I’m visiting my family in SC, and I haven’t seen most of them for years! A lot of my second cousins, I haven’t even met yet. I’m definitely keeping these topics on hand.

  5. kaylablogs says:

    My family is super small so it probably won’t be too awkward (at least on Christmas it won’t be). After Christmas, I’m going to Oklahoma to meet my boyfriend’s extended family so I might need these prompts then!

    Kayla | kaylablogs.com

  6. Lauren says:

    Awkward conversations are the worst but these are some good ideas! It seriously becomes too much to handle sometimes…haha!
    xo
    Lauren

  7. Amanda Cross says:

    Great post for the holidays! Awkward small talk is definitely not something I love. Luckily I spend most of my time with my immediate family during the holidays so I don’t have to worry too much about the awkward conversations because my immediate family already knows whats happening with me in regards to small talk conversations.

Leave a Reply

