Product Review: Chomps Snack Sticks

Chomps1.jpg

Last week, I was sent Chomps Snack Sticks via BrandBacker to eat (hopefully enjoy) and review. The Chicago-land based company prides themselves on their gluten free healthy paleo snacks made with 100% grass fed beef. Read on to find out my thoughts on these snacks.


Ever since I was little, I have enjoyed an occasional Slim Jim and I mean really enjoyed. However, beef snack sticks and beef jerky don’t have a reputation for being the most nutritious or healthful snacks. So when I first learned about Chomps and that they were Whole30 approved, I was very intrigued.

Chomps2

Chomps sent me 6 snack sticks total,2 of each kind they offer: Original, Crankin’ Cran and Hoppin’ Jalapeño. I was never too fond of non-original flavored Slim Jims, so I was skeptical to give two of these flavors a try.

Original: This original was not as spicy as I was used too from other snack sticks, but I really enjoyed the natural flavor of the beef. By natural, I mean no artificial, synthetic beef flavor. I really enjoyed eating this flavor so much so that I had to really restrain myself from eating the second one because I knew I had to feature the Original in the photos.

Crankin’ Cran was the flavor I thought I would enjoy the least because I was having a hard time imagining beef and cranberry flavors combining tastefully. Much to my surprise, the cranberry doesn’t add cranberry flavor per say but rather a sweetness to complement the added spice.

Hoppin’ Jalapeno: Honestly, I expected it to be a more stark and abrasive spiciness, but I’m relieved by the way the spice tastes. To (hopefully) make this more clear, I was expecting the heat to resemble that of Flaming Hot Cheetos or something with a harsh, artificial spiciness, but in fact the spice was something closer to a medium salsa, which was MUCH more enjoyable.

My only beef (pun intended) with this product is the packaging. It was really hard to peel open. The plastic was a lot thicker than I’m accustomed to for this type of product and found it very hard to separate the two layers of plastic. I ended up having to cut it open, which wasn’t a huge deal – just not something I was used to.

Chomps Snack Sticks are pricier than their main competitors, but I think, for the taste and good quality protein, the price is well-justified. You can purchase a 5-pack of any flavor from their website for $11.25 and can purchase them in quantities up to 144 sticks.

Have you ever tried these snacks?

I received these snack sticks from Chomps for free via the BrandBacker program. All opinions stated above are completely my own and honest. 

23 thoughts on “Product Review: Chomps Snack Sticks

  1. Amy says:

    I don’t really eat beef, but this looks like something my boyfriend would really enjoy! I think I may pick some up for him to try!
    xoxo
    Amy | pastelnpink.blogspot.com

  2. angelmerisa23 says:

    Fairly certain I could live off Slim Jims and that’s a scary thought, these seem like such a great alternative that I’m definitely going to have to try them out. xx Merisa | Monogrammed Magnolias

Leave a Reply

