Reflecting on 2015

2015Reflection

Half of the time when I look back at 2015 I hate it and the other half of the time I think, maybe, it wasn’t so bad. 2015 was a very challenging year in more ways than one and I learned many lessons “the hard way.” In all honesty, it’s very difficult for me to write this post, but we can’t move forward until we accept what has happened. Here are the lessons 2015 taught me:


> Yelling is not always the most effective form of communicating anger. When I get upset, I want to yell. Yelling makes me feel like my actions (yelling) truly convey and emphasize my emotions (anger). This works for some people. I learned that when I yell in attempt to express my anger, I only add more fuel to my anger, which makes me hysterical and one big yelling, crying mess that very few can understand. Even though it doesn’t provide me with the same “satisfaction” that yelling does when I’m angry, I’ve learned to remove myself from the situation I’m in, as best as I can, to calm down before I discuss why I’m angry. The point in doing this is to have a conversation to resolve the issue and not a screaming match.

> Sometimes it’s okay to quit and say goodbye. Several times this last year I felt stuck. I felt so stuck that it made me anxious and unhappy. For a long time I tried to convince myself that these feelings would pass and that my situation would improve. After months and not feeling any differently, I knew that the only way for me to feel better was to remove myself from my unhappy situation and let go. Since doing so, I have felt like the weight of the world has been lifted off of my chest and I can be happy and function normally.

> Be unapologetically you. Your twenties are already hard enough without people questioning your choices, which in turn makes you question them yourself. In hindsight, I spent a lot of my time this year making personal decisions based on how I thought other people would perceive my choices. Not only was I miserable in doing so, but I never received the approval I thought I wanted. In 2016 and for the rest of my life, it’s time to make my decisions my own decisions.

I hope that 2016 brings you all joy, laughter and wonderful opportunities. May this next year be a breath of fresh air that rejuvenates our creativity, inspires happiness and presents us with many adventures.

 

 

19 thoughts on “Reflecting on 2015

  1. A Peachy Sonder says:

    I identify with all of the lessons you’ve shared here! 2015 was a challenging year for me as well, and I’m really excited for a clean slate to start 2016. Being true to yourself can be difficult, but that’s also a goal of mine this year! It’s definitely the best way to be happy and the people who help you accomplish this are the ones who need to surround you. Best wishes for 2016!

  2. Tiffany Khyla says:

    Gosh, this resonated with me so much. 2015 was a pretty tough year for me too, and, like you, I learned a lot of lessons the hard way, particularly when it came to relationships with the people in my life. I’m finding that I need to focus on me and my happiness and stop trying to please others so much. I’ve been attempting to rid myself of the toxic people in my life and focus on self-improvement for the new year. Hopefully both of us will succeed in having a much, much better year.

  3. Bella B (xoxoBella) says:

    I am a yeller because I come from a family of loud Italians. That is how we communicate but not everyone appreciates that, lol! Relationships are so hard especially when you are stressed about school, etc.

  4. angelmerisa23 says:

    This is such an incredible reflection post. I’m totally the type of person to yell when I get extremely angry too. It does absolutely nothing but make my blood boil. Removing yourself from the situation is the best solution I’ve found too. xx Merisa | Monogrammed Magnolias

Leave a Reply

