Starting Off 2016 With an Introduction

FullSizeRender

As you may know from reading my reflection on 2015, I experienced a lot, often painful, growth in 2015. I intend to make 2016 a fantastic year in all facets of my life. Since I have changed and grown over the last year, I want to take this time to re-introduce myself and my blog to my readers, both new and old.


 

Who are you?

For starters, my name is Kristine and I’m a Midwestern gal studying advertising, communication and sociology. I love to learn about, well really everything, but more specifically the 1960’s in the U.S and the Vietnam War. I really enjoy learning about the politics of the 60’s and the events of the War because there’s SO much to know. It was an era in American history filled with civil change as well as change globally.

I have two partners in crime: my little sister and my boyfriend, Tucker. My sister is a lovely bundle of sarcasm and bad jokes with whom I can experiment with different baking and cooking recipes. Together, Tucker and I have an energetic chihuahua-terrier (his family thinks) named Jace who is the apple of my eye. We’ve had many adventures together and I look forward to more adventures, big and small.

Why do you blog?

Before this blog, I had a YouTube channel focused on makeup and all things beauty related. At 16 (perhaps – actual age unknown), this channel allowed me to express myself creatively and create a community outside of high school, which less-than-thrilled me. I created a blog in correspondence with that channel called “The Glitter Diaries,” but my enthusiasm for that blog and my channel faded incredibly quickly. Every few months I would feel guilty that I had created this blog that was just sitting here on the Internet. Finally, in April 2015 (yes, it’s been a while), I decided to completely rebrand this blog and myself on the Internet and created this blog, “My Little Box of Tricks.”

Why do I blog now? Since I could pick up a pencil, I’ve always loved writing. Even though I enjoy watching make up videos and reading reviews of makeup products, I realized that subject was not my passion. Rather, I have a passion for learning and helping others with the information I have learned. The more I have worked to grow this blog, the more wonderful people I have been exposed to in this large Internet world, which, I have to say, has helped inspire and motivate me to continue to write even when I’m feeling overwhelmed.

 

What do you hope to accomplish in 2016?

Yowza, there’s a lot I want to do in 2016. I’ve made great strides in completing my 101 goals in 1001 days list and would like to continue to make great progress. I would like to see this blog grow to 150 WordPress followers, 300 Instagram and Twitter followers and over 120 Pinterest followers. While these numbers may seem small for some, I’m looking to gain loyal, knowledge-thirsty followers (Yes, I do consider learning to heat up leftovers without a microwave, knowledge, haha). I would love to increase the amount of partnerships and paid sponsorships with my blog, but I’ve learned to say no to products/companies/organizations that aren’t in line with helping and/or teaching others.

Now that you know more about me, tell me a bit about you! What do you want to accomplish in 2016?

8 thoughts on “Starting Off 2016 With an Introduction

  1. Sockwun says:

    I love this idea of a re-introduction to start off a new year, especially when a lot of change happened last year. I really neglected my blog last year because of a new job that was really demanding, so my 2016 goals revolve around getting my blog back on track to my stats before my “hiatus” or maybe better if possible!

Leave a Reply

