My Favorite Healthy Snacks

Healthy Snacks.jpg

Like many of you, one of my goals for 2016 is to consistently eat healthier. Consistency this area has proven to be challenging for me because of how much I rely on snacking. I don’t particularly enjoy the feeling of being “full” after eating a big meal, so I’ve become accustomed to eating a snack every few hours for sustenance. While I am trying to make habit of cooking healthier meals for myself, I know trying to eliminate snacks is unrealistic for me. Here are the healthy snacks I’m reaching for these days.


Fresh Salsa Pico de gallo is arguably my favorite food, but it can get pricey to constantly buy it pre-made from a deli or grocery store.I make my own using two plum tomatoes, a quarter red onion, a handful of cilantro and the juice of half a lime – it’s yummier than I would have expected!

(More on the blog: Finals Prep 101: Study Snacks)

Sahale Almond Vanilla Latte layered nut bar I am incredibly picky about granola/nut bars. I think that’s due to my obsessions with the Quaker Oats granola bars that we seemed to stock pile in the house growing up. These bars are different in that they don’t have the texture of a “traditional” granola/nut bar. They are very moist feeling (“fresh” is another word alternative), but not sticky. Another thing I really appreciate about these bars is their taste (obviously). This flavor, in particular, is a composition of natural flavors that don’t taste like it was made in a factory (if it was, I really have no idea). Big fan!

(More on the blog: Recipe: Simple Broccoli Rice Bowl)

Sautéed Kale and Mushrooms Even though the stem of kale is more fibrous than that of spinach, it does not take long to cook. I chop up the mushrooms and kale and toss them in a pan with olive oil, salt, pepper, minced garlic, turmeric and nutmeg. In about 10 minutes, it’s done! (Pro tip: after you initially add the kale and mushrooms, add another tablespoon of olive oil to the pan.)

What are your favorite healthy snacks?

I received Sahale Nut Bars free of charge to review via CrowdTap. All opinions are completely honest and my own.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “My Favorite Healthy Snacks

Leave a Reply

