January 2016: What I’ve Learned

January 2016 Learned

How is January over? I’m both confused and mind-blown by that piece of information. However, I’m pleased to say that, while every moment in January was not necessarily an easy one, January has been quite a fun month. Amidst all the fun, I did stop (more like pause) to learn a thing or two in typical Kristine fashion. I hope the first month of 2016 treated you all as well as it treated me and without further ado, here’s what I’ve learned:


>Having a means to organize your schedule is priceless. This semester I have unusually long Tuesdays and Thursdays filled with classes and odd breaks. I’ve been putting my 2016 Purposeful Planner to good use by writing down my hourly schedule as well as a list of tasks that need to get accomplished that day. Unlike in my previous planners, I can now see how my day is broken up more easily which gives me more flexibility in when I am able to complete those tasks. Doing so has led me to become more productive because I choose which of those tasks to tackle during any of my many breaks. Despite my crazy schedule, I have never felt more organized which is an incredible, priceless feeling.

> Sticking up for yourself doesn’t need to come off as rude. One of my goals for 2016 was to take more control of the activities I participate in and really enjoy everything I do. For me, this meant sticking up for myself more often. In the past, I wasn’t sure how to “properly” stick up for myself – it just felt abrasive and awkward. Don’t get me wrong, depending on the situation, you just might have to be abrasive and blunt in order to get your point across, but for me, I knew I had to learn to articulate my feelings in a more effective way. Like I mentioned in my Reflecting on 2015 post, I took a class on interpersonal communication that basically changed my life for the better. There I learned the skills of effective interpersonal communication and in 2016 I am working on putting those skills into action.

(More on the blog: 101 Goals in 1001 Days)

> Do not underestimate your ability to do or learn ANYTHING. Coming into this semester, I knew I would be challenged. I’m taking an economics course and a personal finance course in addition to three other courses. I’ve struggled with understanding economics as a discipline in the past and came into the new semester completely dreading economics, expecting to do poorly. On the first day of class, I sat in lecture, listening, and was honestly too surprised when I answered the participation questions correctly. I left that class feeling like I could perhaps tackle this course after all. My point in sharing this story with you is that if you have a work training or a new class or another new activity in which you feel will be impossible for you to achieve success, knock it off. I challenge you to actively engage with the material. I challenge you to ask questions. I challenge you to get just a glimpse of what success in this area looks like. It won’t always be easy, heck, it may never be easy, but where there’s a will, there’s a way.

What did you learn in January?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “January 2016: What I’ve Learned

  1. angelmerisa23 says:

    I love this spin on a reflective look back at the month. I like to think about what I learned from a year but it’s so fresh to look back on what a single month can teach us. Organizing is one of my top priorities right now and breaking down my days has been so helpful too. xx Merisa | Monogrammed Magnolias

Leave a Reply

