What I’ve Learned While Working at an Auditorium

Faud.Lessons

Last semester, Tucker got me a job working at our school’s auditorium. I resisted for a long time, doubting I would benefit from this experience (other than a paycheck). After just a few weeks, I had made some great friends and learned a lot – a lot more than I was anticipating. Here are the things I’ve learned in just a semester working at an auditorium.


> How hard can it be? It can be really, really hard. I’m an advertising major. I know absolutely nothing about circuits or inputs or speak-on cables. Within days of being hired, I was thrust into mandatory stage, sound and lighting trainings, which I found incredibly overwhelming. When I went to each training, I made sure I was really receptive to everything the managers had to say because, Lord knows, I did not want to be the one to mess up something simple during a show and cause chaos. I found that I really enjoyed learning about how each facet of the auditorium works because it’s so different from what I normally learn about in class (I’ve really come to enjoy running lights).

> Everyone has something to offer. My coworkers are some of the most interesting people I’ve ever met, especially my boss. Some of the shifts we have to work are 8+ hours long and homework can only keep you occupied for so long, so we end up talking to each other about our lives, what we’re studying, why they decided to work here, etc. In doing so, I’ve found out who wants to become a teacher, who to go to for homework help, who has the best taste in movies and so much more. Knowing more about my coworkers has not only led to a more friendly work environment, but also a more productive one.

> People really are like lost puppies. When you’re a new hire, you work a lot of lobby shifts because you haven’t received training on our other equipment. Whenever you work lobby, you see and hear some remarkable things. I don’t know what it is about college students, but give them a ticket to an a capella show or to see a comedian and any ounce of common sense they have goes out the window. I’ve seen people walk straight into each other (and into doors), people trying to buy tickets to the event with their student ID, and hoards of people cramming together around the Will Call table, to name a few. I’ve learned people need clear direction usually accompanied by pointing in the direction.

Did you have a part time job in college? What lessons did it teach you?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned While Working at an Auditorium

  1. Annie says:

    It really makes you think twice about things. I know I’ve been hesitant about certain jobs or even certain things, but once you try them you get a whole new understanding and appreciation of them! Great post!

  2. Ashley says:

    I think it’s great that you ended up really enjoying your job at the auditorium! Sounds like it has been really beneficial!

    xo Ashley

  3. Jordyn says:

    I definitely think there is a lot to learn from every job/career experience, especially early on. It sounds like you work with great people which is the most important thing in my opinion!

  4. A Peachy Sonder says:

    It sounds like you’ve learned a ton from your job. I worked as a nanny in college and couldn’t believe how much I learned! Being a mom is hard work, and I know now that I want to be ready for it when I become one. Great post!

  5. theazprepster says:

    Goes to show that sometimes you just have to take the leap! It has seemed you’ve learned a lot. I work at the airport for an airline and it’s crazy what I see some people do/say sometimes.

  6. Sierra Bailey says:

    It sounds like an awesome job actually! I work as a tutor for my school’s writing center, but I also work a part as a content writer for my university’s website. Both jobs have taught me interesting life-lessons for sure!

Leave a Reply

