How to Clean Your Makeup Brushes

Makeup Brush

Having clean make up brushes is underratedly one of the greatest feelings for makeup wearers. Starting your makeup routine with clean brushes allows for the smoothest application of products (especially face products) and for the true finish and color of the product to shine. I’m not one to spend (or desire to spend) tons of cash on makeup cleansers; I’d rather spend my makeup money on good quality products. Here is how I deep clean my makeup brushes using household products.


Makeup1.jpg

As you might be able to tell from the picture above, my brush cleanser is composed of two ingredients: dish soap and olive oil. For this blog post, I washed my four most commonly used brushes. To wash these four brushes I used just under 1/4 cup of dish soap and about two tablespoons of olive oil. The exact ratio of dish soap to olive oil has some wiggle room, I would aim to achieve a 2 parts dish soap to 1 part olive oil ratio.

Next, I dip one brush where the two substances meet and rub the bristles/hairs against the plate for a few seconds to break up the makeup that is on the brush. I then rub the bristles against the palm of my other hand to work up a bit of a foam. Then, turn the water on a luke warm (leaning more towards cold than warm) and continue rubbing the bristles on my palm to rinse out the dish soap and olive oil. **Important note** Always keep the bristles of the brush pointing downward, especially when the brush is in direct contact with water because water can travel down to the ferrel of the brush and loosen the glue.

Makeup2

After  you finish cleaning each brush, lay it flat on a paper towel to dry. If the surface on which you’re laying them out to dry slants, make sure that the end with the bristles is going with the downward slant. This is to ensure that as little water as possible travels from the bristles to the ferrel (the metal part of the brush underneath the bristles) and loosens the glue.

What make up products have you been using lately?

4 thoughts on “How to Clean Your Makeup Brushes

  1. Hope says:

    I’m ashamed to admit that I very rarely wash my makeup brushes, mainly because I hate having to buy brush cleaner, but I always have dish soap and olive oil so this makes my life much easier! I’ll definitely be trying this :)

Leave a Reply

