What I’ve Learned: February 2016

Lessons Learned_ February 2016

I know I’m not the first to say this, but, man, am I glad to see February go. These last two weeks have been especially hard, but this week seems to going well – here’s to a marvelous and (hopefully) warm March! February has not left without leaving a few lessons behind. Here are the little things I’ve learned.


> It’s okay to cry I am a firm believer in expressing your emotions however you deem best. I’m a crier. I feel everything very deeply and am very empathic, which often leads me taking on the emotions of other people. This month, I realized while I don’t need to cry “for” other people, it’s okay to cry for myself and my own emotions. No, this doesn’t mean I’m sad all the time. I tend to cry most whenever I’m feeling a lot of one emotion whether it be a happy or sad feeling. I’ve found it’s the easiest way for me to move past feeling overwhelmed by one emotion and truly tackle how I’m feeling.

(More on the blog: July 2015: What I’ve Learned)

> I should not use hot appliances with doors. Yes, I burned my hand again. Not on the toaster oven, but on the actual oven. It never ceases to amaze me how I manage to get a little singed even when attempting to protect myself from getting burned. I suppose there is a silver lining to this phenomenon (if you can even call it that), which is I have learned how to treat minor wounds. My fellow klutzes out there, never fear, there will be a post coming soon.

(More on the blog: Reflecting on 2015)

> Jace, the teeny Chihuahua/Terrier mix, loves being in the car While this isn’t a lesson, per say, it is something that been observed many, many times throughout the month. I think it’s a combination of seeing new people and getting out of the apartment that he likes. My favorite part about being in the car with him is watching how excited he gets when he sees other dogs. His little tail wags so hard you think it’ll wag right off his caboose, he starts jumping at the window as if he believes he can jump through it and he starts whining like he’s asking me, “Mom, can’t I just go play for two minutes.” Seriously, he’s adorable.

What have you learned throughout February?

 

14 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned: February 2016

  1. Cristina says:

    I’ve learned that I need to schedule time for myself and make sure I don’t sit in one place studying all day! Haha. Hope your March is marvelous!

  2. A Peachy Sonder says:

    I hope you don’t totally swear off the oven (how can you live without cookies and browines?!) but I hate getting burned as well. I’m all about oven mitts! February went by so quickly, but it was a good month for me!

  3. Ashley says:

    I love this series!! Ouch! I’m sorry you burned yourself! I got a new curling iron and have burned myself so many times! I’m starting to wonder if I will ever be able to use it without burning myself!

    xo Ashley

  4. Amy says:

    I’ve learned since coming to college that it’s ok to cry! I always thought crying meant I was weak so I always bundled everything up. This is such a great post, thanks for sharing with us!
    xoxo
    Amy | Pastel N Pink

Leave a Reply

