A Letter to My 25-Year Old Self

Open Letter

One of the goals on my 101 in 1001 list was to write a letter to myself that was to be opened when I turn 25. After much deliberation on my end, I thought that it would be fun to share this letter with all of you. If you’re not into more personal posts, never fear, there’s a recipe coming your way on Monday for some seriously tasty salsa. Without further ado, here are the semi-wise words I’d like to tell myself at 25.


Dear Kristine,

You’re 25. An entire quarter of a century, woah. I know that you feel old, but that’s because you are old (at least in relation to being five or thirteen or twenty-one). It’s okay to feel like you have no idea what the hell is going on – who ever knows what the hell is going on?

Currently, at twenty-one, I’ve never felt more confused. I’m not satisfied with my college major, but it seems to be the one that “fits” best. It seems like the more people I talk to within my major, the more I feel like I’m an alien. At first I thought I could do it, yaknow? I could smile the cheesy smile, say the right things and nod along at what others said, but the truth is, I don’t care. Then for a while, I felt like event planning was my calling. I was always busy and had something new to think about. But the stress is something I’m not sure I can handle. Then there are kids. How long have you thought about, spoke about or dreamed about working with kids? I hope that you are closer to finding the thing you love doing and find some way to make it work. Life is too short.

What do I/we look like at 25? Did we have those extra teeth finally removed? Do we wear contacts now or are reading glasses still good enough? Have we developed a liking for red wine yet? Or are we still strictly white wine gals? Where did you go on your last vacation? Did Miley and Liam ever get married? Are they still married?

But seriously, I hope you’re happy doing whatever you’re doing and just living life. I know we’re cautious and more reserved than we were in high school, but I hope you’re owning that. It’s not a crime to be careful with what you say to whomever you’re speaking to – it’s practical. It’s not a crime to celebrate little victories, it’s encouraged. Finally, it’s not a crime to love something if other people don’t see eye to eye. The beauty of being alive in the 21st century is knowing that so many things have the potential to make someone happy and rarely are those things the same for different people. Own whatever it is that makes you happy. Own whatever song it is that makes you smile even after hearing it for the millionth time. Own whatever food you will always have room for in your belly. Life is too short to live any other way.

Love you now and always,

Kristine

21 thoughts on “A Letter to My 25-Year Old Self

  1. artfulattempt says:

    As someone who is almost 25 (5 months away) this hits home well. I went through college being fairly certain that my major was the perfect fit for me, now I’ve been teaching for 3 years and I like it, but I’m not convinced it will be my career forever. You know what’s great though? That’s ok. It’s ok to major in something, try it out, and then try something else. It’s ok to be mid-twenties and not sure what the next 3 years of your life will really look like. I’m learning to embrace it and take opportunities as they come my way. Great letter to yourself that will be really cool to read when you turn 25!

  2. Cristina says:

    haha did Miley and Liam ever get married?! Something I will definitely include in my letter to myself at 25. I think you’re really going to enjoy reading this in a few years… You are going big places, girl! Don’t worry too much about the future :)

    X,
    Cristinawashere.com

  3. jennyblaisdell says:

    Great post, girl!
    I am 24 and still feel like I am fake adulting so there’s no rush to have everything figured out :)

    xoxo, Jenny

  4. Amy says:

    So in love with this post! I wrote a personal letter similar to this to my 13 year old self and it was great getting so much of my chest. thanks for sharing this with us!
    xoxo
    Amy | Pastel N Pink

Leave a Reply

