Recipe: 5-Ingredient Salsa

Fresh Salsa

I frequently “joke” that the quickest way to my heart is with a good bowl of salsa. I loosely use the word joke because I think salsa is the most delicious food in the entire world. After spending way too much money (too frequently) on fresh salsa from the local grocery store, I finally decided to perfect my own recipe. Here is my very own, delicious recipe for fresh salsa using only 5 ingredients.


Salsa

Above is a picture of all of the ingredients. Yes, I see there are four. The only ingredient not pictured is salt. While this recipe is a simple one, what counts is technique. By technique I am referring to how the ingredients are cut. I found that cutting the tomatoes into a large dice and the onion in a small dice was the best tasting combination. Don’t think how you cut your ingredients matters? Try taking a large bite of raw, red onion. It’s not pleasant (and this is coming from someone who likes onions).

(More on the blog: Recipe: Elevated, Quick-Cook Ramen)

Another thing to note about these ingredients is that I did not use the entire bunch of cilantro. I used maybe a third of it and finely chopped it. I really love cilantro, but if you don’t  like cilantro or haven’t used it before, feel free to use less. You can always add more, whereas removing cilantro that’s already been mixed in is very difficult (and messy).

Salsa 2.JPG

But that’s about it. Cut up the ingredients and use the juice of half of a juicy lime. If the lime you have isn’t as ripe/juicy, use the entire lime.

Ingredients

2 roma tomatoes, diced

1/4 red onion, finely chopped

1/3 bunch cilantro (about 1/4 cup), finely chopped

1/2 – 1 lime

Salt to taste

Procedure

  1. Combine diced tomatoes, chopped red onion and chopped cilantro in a bowl.
  2. Squeeze 1/2 lime into the bowl.
  3. Season with salt and enjoy!
  4. ** Optional** Add 1/4 jalapeño, seeds removed, finely chopped
20 thoughts on “Recipe: 5-Ingredient Salsa

  1. Tiffani says:

    I read this entire post, and saved it to Pinterest but totally forgot to comment. I seriously love this, and I am ALWAYS looking for new salsa recipe. I can’t wait to try this next week!

Leave a Reply

