How to Keep in Touch Throughout the Year Featuring Paperless Post

How to Stay In Touch

Is it really that hard to keep in touch throughout the course of one year? Sure, you can send a birthday card and a holiday card, but those are only two days of the year. Are you doing your best to keep in touch with your loved ones the other 363 days of a calendar year? Texts messages, Facebook messages and emails aside, there’s nothing quite like touching base with loved ones in a more personal way. Here are a few ways you can maintain a more personal connection with those you love while geography attempts to keep you apart.


Care Packages Most common, it seems, either in a sleep away camp or college setting, care packages allow you to send a little bit of home, familiarity and fun to those who are on your mind. I personally love compiling items to put in care packages mostly because I love being able to imagine the look on the receiving person’s face when they open up the box and see all of the odds and ends I’ve gathered. Items in these sorts of packages can range from silly knick knacks from the Dollar Spot at Target to a scarf to keep them warm in the winter or a few boxes of their favorite candy. Whatever items you choose to include, the point is to make the box as personalized as possible.

(More on the blog: Movie Night Essentials)

Gift Basket or Edible Arrangement These sorts of items (according to Friends) were popular office presents throughout the ’90s. However, since Edible Arrangements have hit the market, they are no longer only targeted towards offices. I will never forget the look on my high school choir director’s face when the entire choir pitched in to get her a Hello Kitty Edible Arrangement as a holiday gift for her. She was thrilled by the customization (she LOVED Hello Kitty) and the thoughtfulness of our gesture. While these types of arrangements can run on the pricer side of ways to keep in touch, they are unique ways to show someone you’re thinking of them.

(More on the blog: Father’s Day Gift Guide)

Flowers An oldie and a classic, but a goody. These days receiving flowers is usually seen as a gesture of romance or someone wanting to treat themselves. Why limit such a beautiful gesture to these situations? Flowers can be sent to someone as a sign of congratulations, well wishes or even just to wish someone a Happy Tuesday.

Whether or not you choose any of the methods I listed above, I highly recommend sending a card every now and then – just because. The cards I’ve been LOVING lately are from Paperless Post. They feature a huge (and I mean really huge) selection of adorable cards. These cards range from birthday cards (my three favorites: 1, 2, 3), happy hour invitations (this one is my absolute favorite) and a variety of holiday cards ranging from St. Patrick’s Day to Pancake Day. Another really cool feature that Paperless Post offers is that most cards can be sent in both online and paper card forms – both forms equally as inexpensive. The next time you’re looking for a cute, unique card to send someone, check out Paperless Post before you head to Etsy or Target. Stay up to date with Paperless Post via social media: Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

What’s your favorite way to keep in touch with loved ones throughout the year?

28 thoughts on “How to Keep in Touch Throughout the Year Featuring Paperless Post

  1. Kayla says:

    I love sending cards during the year. I just think there’s something old-fashioned about sending a physical card in the mail every once in a while that can’t be replaced via electronic mediums. I usually pick up a box of blank cards with a cute print on the front every few months at TJ Maxx so that I always have them on hand!

    Kayla || Keynotes from Kay

  2. Jenny says:

    I definitely want to send a care package or two this year. My friends and I are all spread out across TX so we don’t get to see each other very often.

    xoxo, Jenny

  3. Cristina says:

    Paperless Post is the BEST! Also, I love receiving/sending edible arrangements. My parents sent me a fruit basket last year during finals week and I literally cried I was so happy! And those chocolate covered bananas were to die for! :)

    X.
    Cristina
    cristinawashere.com

  4. Anna says:

    I love sending cards and writing letters to send in the mail here and there! Plus I talk to my family a lot on the phone, so we’re always in touch!

Leave a Reply

