What I’ve Learned: March 2016

March Lessons

Holy moly, can you believe April is already knocking on our front doors? I find it truly baffling that we’re already on our fourth month of 2016 and there are only six weeks left in the semester. Of course I know that time doesn’t stop so it’s logical that April 1 is on Friday. The time has gone by so quickly that I am both intimidated and excited by the months to come. Here are the things I learned during March.


> Relaxing means different things to everyone. I have always said that I don’t know how to relax. For years I found TV boring and traditional relaxing to put me to sleep, but I felt almost constantly stressed. This past spring break I worked hard to find my perfect balance. At the very beginning of break, I wrote down a complete list of everything I had to accomplish in order to stay on top of my classes once I got back on campus. Every day I did a little bit to cross of items on that list and every day I did something I found fun. When my break was coming to an end and my parents asked me if I felt relaxed, I was shocked to (for once) reply “Yes.”

> Life is short. Buy that eye cream. If you’ve been following along with the blog on Facebook, then you know I picked up this eye cream at Sephora while on spring break. While this may not seem like a big or exciting purchase for some, to me it was a big deal. I’ll be the first to admit it: I’m cheap. I grew up in a household where I learned the value of a dollar and saw how much I got get for that dollar at different stores. I’m very thankful for growing up this way because I am very careful with my money. That being said, this eye cream cost a whopping $30 dollars. I did my due diligence in researching eye creams and couldn’t help but gravitate towards products that were less expensive and seemed good enough. When I came across this Origins eye cream, I had a feeling it would be just the product I needed. Despite the steeper price tag, I purchased it and have really been enjoying it. A wise woman once told me this: Everyone needs a little luxury. I love my little luxurious eye cream and hope that you have a little luxury in your life too.

> Along the lines of life is short: Get to know your community. How many times do you find yourself pinning to be somewhere else? I love traveling and exploring new communities as much as the next person (check out my Wanderlust board if you don’t believe me), but how well do I know my own community? Since I will be spending another summer in central Illinois, I wanted to make an effort to really get to know my local community. I spent the evening a few nights ago liking local attractions, bakeries, restaurants, and park districts on Facebook to make sure I wouldn’t miss out on upcoming events. I’ve decided to embark on this local adventure sooner rather than later and plan on going to a local dairy farm over the weekend (who doesn’t love baby goats?)!

What unexpected events were thrown your way in March? How have you grown?

15 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned: March 2016

  1. goldandheartsblog says:

    I definitely agree on the life is short buy that eye cream. I dread shopping, which is weird for a blogger, but I’ve recently splurged on some makeup and skincare.
    Shaguna
    gold&hearts

  2. christymarieblog says:

    I totally agree about the relaxing piece! If I have too many things to do, there is no way I can relax. Even on my days off, the first thing I do is clean up the apartment so I am not sitting in a mess.

  3. Amy says:

    Great post! I totally get what you mean by everyone has different ways of relaxing! My mom can just lay on a couch and peacefully relax all day, but I just can’t sit still. thanks for sharing with us!
    xoxo
    Amy | Pastel N Pink

Leave a Reply

