Life Update + Recent Favorites

Life Update + Recent Favorites

Why hello there, my little pocket of the Internet. How are ya doin’ on this fine day? I have to say, a lot has happened since I last posted: I finished my junior year of college, started my summer job dabbling in event planning, celebrated a 2-year anniversary with my boyfriend and witnessed bits and pieces of the world and this country mourn. Honestly, the last “thing” has been what has made writing in my Internet space so difficult. Why would anyone care about my favorite makeup items or what I’ve been packing for lunch at work while innocent people are being killed or hurt? Why should anyone care?


I read a post on Very Erin’s Facebook page today and it completely encapsulates my feelings on this subject. To summarize, Erin basically talked about how in the blogging world of scheduled self-promotion, important, relevant tragedies get overlooked in the name of promoting one’s blog. To me, you can look at this topic through a variety of different lenses: one of shameless, self-promotion in a time when other discussions need to be had or one of a helpful distraction.

As a historically optimistic person, it’s been very hard to remain optimistic this last year. Over Thanksgiving break during the Fall semester, I broke down to my family about how, now, it’s a terrible time to be alive. We now live in a world where we can’t trust the strangers around us in a movie theater, the mall, even on the street, to not pull out a gun and start shooting. We now live in a world where a serious presidential candidate wants to build a wall separating us from one of our closest neighbors, and have them pay for it. The saddest part of all in my eyes, we now live in a world where the stereotypes, preconceived notions and judgments that we have spent hundreds of years fighting against are the very same stereotypes, preconceived notions and judgments that are fueling our insecurities as a nation. I just don’t get it.

If you ask me, it sounds like America needs to grow the **** up. I blatantly don’t understand why there seems to be this inherent need for distinct separation and exclusion. Separation of people, gender, culture, whatever. So what, some people love girls while others love boys? Some people fast during certain times of the year – so what? Isn’t it “good enough” that people have the capacity to love – regardless of who they love? Isn’t it good enough that people have something worth celebrating? I don’t get it.

I can understand how some may look at my feelings and find them naive – that maybe I’m just not understanding the bigger issue at hand. But if you ask me, isn’t the bigger issue that our universally unifying feature is that we’re humans living on this planet trying to live our best life? Why do we need to make it more complicated than that? Why do some feel the need to ensure that everyone’s “best life” looks exactly the same? Why do some feel the need to speak publicly (loudly) about how those who deserve a “best life” need to look the same, act the same, love the same – WHO CARES?

I digress… that larger, ethical debate has been the motivation behind my hiatus. What I’ve got to say is not more important than the immense social unrest that is going on in the US and around the world. That’s not to say that, all of a sudden now it’s okay for me to talk about other things because those issues aren’t important anymore. I’m trying to start a conversation. Hell, you don’t have to have this conversation with me, but please start a conversation with someone you know and trust about these issues. Find out the facts, form your own opinions and have productive conversations.


Time to switch gears a little bit, don’t ya think? While I’ve been away, I haven’t locked myself in a dark room, pondering my existence – I have lived a little. I highly encourage you all to find life’s big and little things that make you smile and add value to your day/week/life. Here the things that have brought me much happiness over the last month and a half:

  • Giving Jace the puppy a bath
  • Perfecting making coffee at home
  • Family visits
  • Rain storms
  • Movie dates with Tucker
  • Chinese food – both take out and homemade
  • Watching my sister kick serious butt during her first year of high school
  • Historical fun facts
  • Exploring my local community
  • Multiple celebrations
  • Sharing ice cream with Jace the puppy

These are just the things I’ve been able to think of off the top of my head. I hope that you remind yourself daily of the things that make you crack a smile.

I’m not sure how often I’ll be writing as I get back into the swing of blogging and having a full time job that leaves me exhausted (seriously, y’all who do this year round – endless kudos to you), but I will be back soon.

4 thoughts on “Life Update + Recent Favorites

Leave a Reply

