Recipe: Elevated, Quick-Cook Ramen

Recipe_ Elevated, Quick Cook Ramen.jpg

I will be the first to shamelessly admit that I love ramen. Not the fancy stuff you get at restaurants, but those packets of ramen that cost 22 cents at Target. Fellow college students, you know exactly what I’m talking about. It wasn’t until I moved into an apartment that I realized just how versatile packaged ramen is. Then, as ramen restaurants were becoming all the rage, I got inspired to make my own elevated ramen at home. As I mentioned in my cold weather essentials post, ramen soup is a go-to for me once the weather turns chilly. Today, I’m going to show you just how easy (and tasty) more-than-the-spice-packet ramen is to make.


img_9965

This is, no joke, everything you need. When I thought about what vegetables I wanted to add, I thought about the vegetables that are in my favorite Asian food dishes. I came up with celery, mushrooms, carrots, onions and bok choy. Out of my favorites, carrots and green onions were the things I had on hand. Since I really enjoy the flavor of onions, I chopped up the entire green onion and about half of the carrot, once it was peeled.

I think the best part about this ramen is that you can use any kind of ramen packet (i.e. chicken, mushroom, oriental, etc.) and your favorite vegetables – totally customizable.

IMG_9967.JPG

Once my veggies are chopped, it’s time to add everybody to the pot, or in this case the pool (get it? The veggies are “swimming” in the broth…). I eyeball about a cup to a cup and a half broth in the pot and then add the veggies and seasoning packet. Then I turn the stovetop on to medium-low heat and wait for it to come to a boil. Once it’s boiling, I add the noodles to the pot and wait to them to cook – about three minutes. Voila!


IMG_9968.JPG

Ingredients

1 package of ramen (any flavor)

1- 1.5 cups broth (I used vegetable broth, pick your favorite!)

1/2 cup chopped carrots

1 green onion, chopped

Procedure

  1. Peel the carrot. Cut the carrot in half and chop one half – save the rest for later. Chop up the green onion.
  2. Add broth to small sauce pot. Add in chopped vegetables and the seasoning packet that comes in the ramen package.
  3. Turn on the stovetop to medium-low heat and wait for the soup to come to a boil.
  4. Once the soup is boiling, add in the dried ramen noodles and cook until noodles are tender – about 3 minutes.

What is your favorite way to eat or make ramen?

28 thoughts on “Recipe: Elevated, Quick-Cook Ramen

Leave a Reply

