Bloggers Who Inspire: Savannah

Bloggers Who Inspire.jpg

Today, I’m bringing a new series to the blog. As you can tell by the title, this series is focusing on fellow bloggers who I find personally inspiring and motivating. My goal is to bring share one or two inspiring bloggers every month. I got the idea for this series actually reading a blog post Savannah posted on her blog. I have been following her blog for the last year or so and find her posts and personality very relatable, honest and forward-thinking. She is not afraid to talk about topics that others stray away from, which I greatly appreciate and admire. I don’t feel like my descriptions are doing her or her blog any justice, so I’ll let Savannah speak for herself. Enjoy :)


Meet Savannah.jpg

Name: Savannah

Blog Name: Always S

Let’s jump right into it: What gives you the most inspiration?

Pinterest ;) No, but really – I love listening to happy music, talking on the phone with my mom, or reading other blogs to find inspiration. Bright colors, sunflowers, and warm weather days inspire me too.

Between balancing schoolwork, a blog & extracurricular activities, how do you avoid feeling overwhelmed?

I plan, I plan some more, and then I plan again. I have Google Calendar set up on my computer and synced with my phone. I also have one of Emily Ley’s Simplified Planners so I can keep track of everything on paper. At the end of every day (or let’s be honest, most of the time every other day), I make sure everything is the same across my calendars and color code in my paper planner with cute pens. I think knowing that at the very least I have everything written down and ready to go makes me feel less overwhelmed when I have a busy day.

If you were to write a book about your life, what would it’s title be and what would you name each of its chapters?

I would probably write a lot about my family and friends because the saying “It takes a village to raise a child” is SO true. The title of my book would be “It Takes a Village” and I would dedicate each chapter to a person that has significantly helped me grow and become the person I am today.

Savannah 3.JPG

You recently took a trip to Tanzania. What motivated you to take this trip across the pond? Were you nervous about going? If so, what helped you overcome those feelings?

Yes I did! It was incredible. Fall 2015 was a hard season for me. I struggled with school and relationships in a major way. January 2016, I saw the applications for Young Life Expeditions (a branch of Young Life, a youth group) and noticed there was a trip to Tanzania. I was pulled in Tanzania’s direction from the beginning and I didn’t even consider any other country. So July 2016, I went. Hell YES I was nervous about going! I didn’t know anyone. I was the only participant that signed up individually (without friends or family going too). I was nervous to the point of tears when my parents dropped me off to spend the night with the group before our early morning flight, but I knew that I was about to embark on a life changing experience. I didn’t put too much pressure to make friends on myself because I knew no matter what that this trip would change me for the better. To overcome those anxious feelings, I remembered my purpose – to step out of my comfort zone – and thought about how good it would feel to accomplish something so great by myself. And I did it! I made it to the top of the tallest free-standing mountain, Mt. Kilimanjaro. And all of the hard shit I dealt with in the last year suddenly didn’t really matter that much anymore because I had the confidence and faith in myself that I desperately needed.

To read more about Savannah’s life-changing trip to Tanzania, click here

What is one thing you want to see happen or change in the next 5 years?

Personally, I want to travel more and have a family. How crazy is that to think about?! Within the next five years I could be married! Or in a different country! On a larger and more serious scale, I hope to see gender equality in the workplace because that is something we desperately need and something I want for my future daughter(s).

What does being successful mean to you? Do you measure success the same way across all facets of your life?

Being successful to me means having a community to encourage you and empower you as well as the confidence and trust in yourself to accomplish whatever life throws in your direction.

savannah-2

What is your life mantra/motto?

“What is done in love is done well.”


Thanks for checking out the first installment of this series and a HUGE thank you to Savannah for participating! Keep your eyes peeled, there will be another installment coming in November!

Who inspires you?

37 thoughts on “Bloggers Who Inspire: Savannah

    • Deandre says:

      Hi Maggie! Thanks so much for reading and for your insightful comment. I think you are so right and I want to make sure I tell/convey to my students how much I value their thoughts and contributions to the class. My class is really designed to be interactive and dioesusisn-oricnted, and I need to work hard to promote that safe space. I’m making notes about it now. So thank you!

    • Pepper says:

      "If Laura Wood is not an Auster groupie, I suspect she will find herself on his bad list eventually. Auster split with everyone, including the founder of VFR, James Kalb. He is a loose cannon unto hiu.fles&qmot;Auster demands blind obedience from his followers. He has that in common with his bete noire, Hitler. LOL!

Leave a Reply

