3 Cooking Shows to Watch For Inspiration

cooking-shows-to-watch-for-inspiration

Seriously happy Thursday, y’all. This week has been the most but thankfully it’s almost over. Today, I’m going to be talking about food, sort of. Yesterday, I asked Tucker what to blog about – none of the ideas I have written down were speaking to me. I forget exactly what he said, but something he said made a light bulb in my head go off, so he gets credit for today’s blog post. Now, I don’t know about you, but figuring out what to cook can get old, very quickly. Even though I love Pinterest (seriously, check out my multiple food-related boards), it’s sometimes hard for me to turn pins into real life meals. Enter television. I love the Food Network and could happily watch cooking shows for the rest of my life. I don’t know what it is about watching other people cook, but it’s weirdly therapeutic and inspiring. Here are my favorite cooking shows to watch pretty much all the time, but especially when I’m feeling uninspired by the ingredients in my kitchen.


Beat Bobby Flay

This may be slightly controversial in my family. For years, I couldn’t stand Bobby Flay. I was very passionate about my disdain for this man. I don’t know what it was, but I’m happy that phase is behind me. If you’re unfamiliar with the premise of this show, two of Bobby’s BFFs (changes every episode) pick two chefs to try and take down Bobby Flay. There are two rounds. In round 1 the visiting chefs face off making an ingredient of Bobby’s choice the star of their dish. The winner of that round then faces off against Mr. Flay himself making the visiting chef’s signature dish. I find this show inspiring because chefs are real people. As silly as that may sound, if you are familiar with Bobby Flay, he’s as normal as they come in terms of award-winning, all-star, crazy successful chefs.

(More on the blog: Tips for Baking Your First Pie)

The Pioneer Woman

I rolled my eyes as I typed that. Let me explain. I’m not a fan of Ree herself, but she makes very approachable, comforting, good-eats food. Her show is usually on when I come home to eat lunch in between classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays, so I’ll pop it on as I eat. I like to watch her show because she adds ingredients to standard, comfort foods that give them a little bit of extra oomph. Also, Ree is a former vegetarian so she often suggests vegetarian alternatives as she’s cooking, which is super helpful since Mr. Tucker is himself, a vegetarian.

(More on the blog: Recipe: 5-Ingredient Salsa)

Iron Chef America

I would like to start this section by just stating how sad I am that this show is not on anymore. In addition to Rachel Ray’s 30-minute meals, this show was one of the first cooking shows that I watched faithfully. If you’ve never seen Iron Chef America, envision Chopped, but cooler. There were originally 4 or 5 Iron Chefs (Mr. Bobby Flay was one of them) and one would be cooking against a challenger in each episode. The “Chairman” (seriously, YouTube this show if you haven’t seen it – it’s a riot) would then make this big ol’ dramatic speech and announce what the secret ingredient for the day was. The challenger and the Iron Chef, along with their cooking teams, would then need to create a 5-6 course meal making the Secret Ingredient the star of each course. Basically, this show just oozes creativity. Of course I’m not going to head out to Meijer and pick some beef tongue to make for dinner, but this show introduced me to the spice profiles of many different cuisines.

For all of my fellow chefs and bakers out there, what keeps you inspired when you’re in the kitchen? Let me know if the comments down below!

31 thoughts on “3 Cooking Shows to Watch For Inspiration

  1. Tiffani says:

    I freaking love Beat Bobby Flay and The Pioneer Woman!! I use so many of her recipes and they are big time family favorites around my house! I love that TPW cooks things that people would really whip up in their kitchen, she’s my fav!

    • Geri says:

      Hello, Rich.Fascinating article you here.Wiki whackers are people who whack the Wikipedia, either overtly, say through vandalism, or more subtly to spread disinformation, say for political purposes, etc. Although it is seemingly handy to use, the Wikipedia cannot be trusted.I would only add that nowadays the word &#t280;cul8ࢭ has been weaponized and is thoroughly loaded with sinister connotations. And I think some people intentionally use it that way, as a weapon, for various reason, and not simply to be dispassionately technical.

  2. Hannah says:

    I agree with you about The Pioneer Woman! I don’t really like to watch her, but her recipes are FABULOUS. If you’re in the mood for dessert, you should try her Monster Cookies – they’re AMAZING!

    Hannah

  3. xoxobellablog says:

    I use to watch the cooking channel all day everyday!!! I use to never be able to turn it off. although it makes you super hungry watching it lol. I loved it. Now i just bake everyday and try making my owe cooking show lol! I loved watching diners.drive ins and dives. that one was my fav.

    http://xoxobella.com

  4. Alex says:

    I’ve never seen beat Bobby flay, but I LOVEEEEE the pioneer woman! You can tell that a lot of it is scripted, but it’s so good at the same time!

  5. Cristina says:

    I love the Pioneer Women! Whenever I go to Dallas, I stay with my uncle and it’s his favorite show. He puts it on every Saturday morning!

    X,
    Cristina / cristinawashere.com

Leave a Reply

