5 Places to Get Inspiration for Blog Posts

5-places-to-get-blog-post-inspiration

Before I get into the nitty gritty of this post, the places I’ve included are not exclusive to providing blog post inspiration. They are good sources of inspiration for all types of writing. No matter what kind of writing you do, what’s important is that you are writing. Even the most dedicated of writers can get down, feel uninspired and unmotivated – it’s natural, expected and completely okay. Today, I will be sharing with you the places I turn to and the things I do in order to keep the creative spark alive in my noggin. As you read this post, I would love to know if you also use similar methods and also if you use different ones – I’m curious!


1. Read the writing of others.Whether that comes in the form of other bloggers, fanfic writers, novelists, whatever, let your brain absorb the fruit of someone else’s creative labor. Most commonly, I turn to the blogs of my blogging friends and just scroll through their blogs and look for graphics, words and/or topics that spark an idea or a feeling. When that happens, I write it down and try to massage that into a unique blog post topic for myself. This process is not unique to other bloggers’ work, I also do this when reading novels, flipping through magazines, heck, even when I read for class sometimes I get a brain blast. I’ve found that as long as my eyes are moving onto new words and ideas AND my mind is open, the ideas come faster than I initially anticipate.

Some of my favorite bloggers to scroll through: Alicia Tenise, Savvy Southern Belle, Kayla Blogs, The Classic Brunette

2. Watch TV. Remember all those times growing up when your parents, teachers and friends’ parents preached about how TV would melt your brain? While watching TV can be the perfect mindless activity, I’ve found it to also be a large source of creativity-inducing content. The key to this is to remain mentally present when watching. Ask yourself how you would handle a particular situation that’s being depicted on screen. Put yourself in the shoes of a character. As long as you are somehow engaging your brain with what you’re watching, you’ll be surprised as to where the tangents will take you. The best part about watching TV? You can still watch reruns of your favorite shows – it doesn’t need to be new content. I get some of my best blog post ideas while watching reruns of Friends – why? Personally, I think it’s because I identify and sympathize with the characters so deeply so I allow myself to get swept up in the feelings and perspectives of each of the characters. Cheesy, yes, but if it ain’t broken, don’t fix it, am i right?

3. Shopping. Again, this one is not quite what it seems nor is it totally limited to brick-and-mortar shopping. This particular method has been rather helpful in generating ideas for DIYs and recipes because there’s nothing like taking a leisurely stroll down the beautifully decorated aisles of Target and picking up an adorable golden deer and seeing the $15 price tag. Seriously, it’s unnecessary. Such trips to Target and other stores have given me ideas to create blog posts such as this one on 5 things that are worth making at home and this one about making your own vinaigrette.

4. Listen to Podcasts. Honestly, I’m most excited to talk about this section with you all because I am seriously addicted to podcasts right now. Similarly to my method for watching TV, when looking for inspiration, listen to podcasts with hosts/characters/topics that you can identify with. Doing so saves your brain energy because rather than trying to decipher what the heck the host is talking about or trying to keep you awake because the host’s voice puts you to sleep, your brain is able to pay attention and wander at the same time.

I have seriously so many favorite podcasts right now, but here are a few that have been helpful in sparking ideas for myself: Brain Candy Podcast, Harry Potter and the Sacred Text, Jenna and Julien

5. Use Your Alone Time to Your Benefit. You know those fifteen minutes you stand in the shower or those thirty minutes before you drift asleep? That’s what I’m talking about. I like to use that time to wind down and let my mind wander. As someone who feels compelled to make the most out of her time, I like to do two things at once as much as possible like walk to class and listen to podcasts, enter data into the computer for work and listen to podcasts, shower and plan how to conquer the world  blog posts. Whenever your down time is, allow it to still be downtime and let your brain do the legwork for you.

Now I’m super curious to know, where do you find inspiration for your writing endeavors? How do you ensure what you’re writing is unique?

 

27 thoughts on “5 Places to Get Inspiration for Blog Posts

  1. blonderoastbythecoast says:

    Love this post Kristine!! I struggle coming up with post ideas and usually just go with whatever’s going on in my life. Can’t wait to try out some of these techniques!!

  2. Rachel says:

    I love the idea of listening to podcasts for inspiration! Sometimes it’s nice to hear someone speak from the heart about their passions and that is always inspiring!

  3. Hannah says:

    I love all these ideas! My personal favorite is going on and reading other bloggers posts and feeling their inspiration and drive. This really helps motivate me to find things to blog about!

    Hannah

Leave a Reply

